Top 10 Finalist for the 2023 Leacock Medal for Humour

The Stephen Leacock Associates are pleased to announce the 2023 long list for the annual Stephen Leacock Memorial Medal for Humour. Celebrating 76 years since its inception, this annual award recognizes excellence in Canadian literary humour. Past winners have included Terry Fallis, Will Ferguson, W.O.Mitchell, Stuart McLean and Mordecai Richler and many others. Board President Michael Hill thanks the national panel of judges for their thoughtful recommendations with this “long list”. He also thanks the authors for their submissions, and commends them on the quality of their writing. The three finalists for the award will be named on Tuesday, August 1, 2023, with the medal winner being announced on Saturday, September 16, 2023 at the Leacock Medal Award Gala Dinner.

The long list for the 2023 Leacock Medal is: (in alphabetical order by author surname)

Caetano, Cody Half-Bads in White Regalia Hamish Hamilton Canada
Carley, Rod Grin Reaping Latitude 46 Publishing
DeForge, Michael Birds of Maine Drawn and Quarterly
French, Bobbi The Good Women of Safe Harbour HarperCollins Publishers Ltd.
Healey, Emma Best Young Woman Job Book Random House Canada
Johnston, Wayne Jennie’s Boy Alfred A. Knopf Canada
Juby, Susan Mindful of Murder HarperCollins Publishers Ltd.
King, Thomas Deep House: A DreadfulWater Mystery HarperCollins Publishers Ltd.
Nawaz, Zarqa Jameela Green Ruins Everything Simon and Schuster Canada
Syjuco, Miguel I Was the President’s Mistress!! Hamish Hamilton Canada

The Leacock Medal awards are generously sponsored by the Dunkley Charitable Foundation.
For more information about the Leacock Medal and Stephen Leacock Associates, please visit the website at Tickets for the Gala Dinner are available at

Contact Rod

BOOK CLUBS! Rod is available for readings and signings, both in person and on-line. Contact him here to arrange your reading.

Invite me to speak at your festival, conference or book club:

705 477 1525 Rod Carley rdcarley @carley_rod

    Copyright © 2024 - All Rights Reserved

    powered by SWAT Media Group